Scandal / TV Show Recaps

Scandal Recap 2×12: Truth or Consequences

scandal-abcThe “Previously on Scandal” portion ends and I see the tag “TWO YEARS EARLIER” and I’m like “happy dance!!!” because I love Scandal flashback episodes. They’re usually filled with heated FitzandLiv tension and mind-blowing revelations. This one was a tad bit different, less heated tension and more revelations.

A. We finally see what Quinn’s boyfriend looked like.

B. We realize Becky has been in Doyle’s back pocket for a while now. Psycho killer chick blew up Cytron.

C. Quinn used to be a lot less conservative dresser. Huh. Who’d a thunk it?

Not only aren’t the flashback scenes not as… risque, but also Olivia Pope is walking around like a zombie. I mean I know I can have my PMS days, mope around the house, wear a ponytail and stay in bed all day… but Olivia Pope is perfect! She shouldn’t have days like this. Alas, she is pining for Fitz while simultaneously realizing that the best she can do is Edison (cue the “eeeewwwww”) At one point she’s in bed and tells him to go away. He doesn’t. He just stands there with his fat, bossy face and keeps asking what’s wrong. GO AWAY! He’s like a lost puppy dog that you wanna kick. And let’s be real. I love puppy dogs so the analogy barely even works. He’s that bad.

Anywho. Edison does get the Gladiator team on the right track so we’ll give him that credit. They all forego their own secrets to find ways to help Olivia out of the doldrums and duh-duh-duuuuuh! They stumble upon the truth. Lightbulb! Olivia somehow got the President elected via voting machine rigging. And like the loyal friends they are, the barely ask questions… they merely band together to her defense. (All the while, Harrison is sporting a hideous tie, but I love him anyway. I swear every time he tells Olivia Pope “I got you” I scream at the TV “let me have your babies!”

Dear Shonda Rhimes,

Harrison needs a love interest.

Sincerely,

Harrison’s future on screen love interest.

Cyrus gives the Scandal Monologue of the Week by telling off Olivia when she tries to confess about the voting machine scheme. I’m like “Hold up Shonda Rhimes!” The government is going to come after you for confirming what we all already suspected– the electoral college is a farce. I believe “magical” was Cyrus’ exact terminology. He brought up Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy. It was funny.*

Eventually, Huck’s computer hacking skills reveal that Hollis Doyle did not pay Becky to kill the President. Well who in Hades did?!!?

Meanwhile, Mellie is having a check up and we get an uncomfortable glimpse of the first lady’s undercarriage, not on screen of course… your mind just tends to wander against your will when you see stirrups. But the whole conversation reminds you, Fitz and Millie already have two children! This almost has the power to change your opinion of Liv and Fitz, but it doesn’t because you’ve never seen these fictional progenies. Maybe Mellie ate them at birth. She tends to have demon qualities like that. She’s frightening.

In an effort to dissuade Fitz from having his divorce, Mellie induces her own labor. This bring out the side of Fitz that I find simply irresistible his character. I don’t find Fitz physically attractive, but his manly qualities of devotion, attentiveness and power make me swoon. He reluctantly enters the birthing room, witnesses his screaming banshee of a wife ( I will never give birth in such a manner. I will do everything in my power to remain ladylike and docile. We’ll see how that works out) and goes into solid-rock-of-a-husband mode. I despise it. There are warring emotions as I admire him but at the same time hate that he’s been put in this supporting role for his manipulative wife.

And then it ends. Classic cliffhanger.

Okay. Let’s be real. What was the point of this episode? Spoiler alert: I watched the previews for next week with the same questions and level of intrigue as I went into this episode. However, the deep baritone of the ever-helpful ABC announcer promised that “all my questions will be answered.” We’ll just see about that.

-B

*If you didn’t already know these beings do not really exist… I pity you. Welcome to real life.

My Two Cents – by Lauren

Let’s be real, I found myself wondering what the point of those flashbacks were considering that we (the viewers) have already put the Cytron puzzle pieces together well enough to know that Hollis planned the whole thing to cover up the election rigging, and then he pinned the scheme on poor ol’ Lindsey/Quinn. The only thing that I could think of is that the writers were revealing that Becky and Hollis have been in cahoots with each other for a while now. But then again, I don’t really know why that is important.

Bring back the Olitz flashbacks – like this beautiful moment outside the White House:

you own me

“You own me. You control me. I belong to you. I love you. I’m in love with you. You’re the love of my life. My every feeling is controlled by the look on your face. I can’t breathe without you. I can’t sleep without you. I wait for you. I watch for you. I exist for you. If I could escape all of this, and run away with you … There’s no Sally or Thomas here. You’re nobody’s victim, Liv. I belong to you. We’re in this together.”

But then, we find out that Hollis Doyle did not pay Becky to shoot the president. Hold up, what?! This revelation brings back the question and twitter trend #WhoShotFitz? In my humble opinion, I am convinced that it was good ol’ Mellie.

1. Remember this not very nice threat from her “GET OVER HER!” speech?

tumblr_mf9makKq2a1qi99ako1_500

2. For some reason, we have all forgotten about the moment in the limo pulling up to the Birthday Gala, when Mellie all of a sudden decided that she didn’t want to go to the giant gala that she had planned. She begged Fitz not to go. Why? … because she has hired someone to kill him! and she was having second thoughts.

3. In this episode, she also mentioned something about dancing on Fitz’s grave. The man is the POTUS – he has an entire army of people protecting him because people actually want to kill him, and the man has actually been shot!! You cannot make threats about him dying. No,no,no, Mellie. Unless … they aren’t idle threats, and she seriously wants him dead. Just a theory.

Can’t wait for next week!

-L

3 thoughts on “Scandal Recap 2×12: Truth or Consequences

  1. i have often wondered why we don’t see the children. i think you are right. she ate them..
    maybe the vice president or the female judge hired the hit man (girl) or it really is hollis.he does kill people. he is so evil. they backed away from him, too easily.

    • Thanks for backing me up! A baby-eating First Lady isn’t too far out of the realm of possibility, right? And yes, Hollis is still suspect…we’ve got our eye on you Doyle (based on previews however, I assume he’s been “cough cough” taken care of).

      • happy to back you up!
        not that first lady…she is only out for #1…she didn’t care what might happen to this baby, by doing whatever she did to get fitz to come to the hospital. i’m saying this even though we don’t know exactly what she did, yet.

Leave a Reply

